Calendar Events

FEBRUARY 2018

February 1 – GADSDEN
Road Scholar Robert Schaefer presents, “Extremist for the Cause of Justice: Martin Luther King’s Letter from a Birmingham Jail.” 5:00.m., 254 College St., Gadsden, AL 35901. Hosted by Gadsden Public Library. More information at https://www.alabamahumanities.org/programs/road/ or contact T.C. McLemore tcmclemore@alabamahumanities.org /(205) 558-3999

February 1 through 23 – JASPER
Water/Ways Jasper. Museum on Main Street Exhibition: A Partnership Project of AHF, the Smithsonian Traveling Exhibition Service. Hosted by Bankhead House & Heritage Center. More information at http://www.wacf.org/bankhead-house–heritage-center.html Contact Barbara Medders bmedders@wacf.org / (205) 302-0001 or contact AHF Grants Director Thomas Bryant tbryant@alabamahumanities.org / (205) 558-3997

February 1 through 23 – MARION
Wade Hall Traveling Postcards Exhibits – Historical Buildings. Grant to Troy University. Hosted by Limestone County Archives. More information at https://trojan.troy.edu/library/wadehall/traveling.html Contact Ruth Elder (334) 670-3874 / relder71917@troy.edu

February 1 through March 15 – ATHENS
Wade Hall Traveling Postcards Exhibits – Historical Buildings. Grant to Troy University. Hosted by Limestone County Archives. More information at https://trojan.troy.edu/library/wadehall/traveling.html Contact Ruth Elder (334) 670-3874 / relder71917@troy.edu

February 5 – MONTGOMERY
AHF Board of Directors, “Board Meeting.” 8:00 a.m., 624 Washington Ave., Montgomery, AL 36130. Hosted by Alabama State Department of Archives and History. More information, contact Alma Anthony aanthony@alabamahumanities.org / (205) 558-3989

February 5 through May 9 – VINCENT
Writing Our Stories. Program at Vincent Middle School. Grant to Shelby County Arts Council. More information https://shelbycountyartscouncil.com/who-we-are/ or contact Bruce Andrews at 2blu.bruce@gmail.com / (205) 669-0044

February 5 through April 10 – MONTEVALLO
Writing Our Stories. Program at Montevallo Middle School. Grant to Shelby County Arts Council. More information https://shelbycountyartscouncil.com/who-we-are/ or contact Bruce Andrews at 2blu.bruce@gmail.com / (205) 669-0044

February 7 – GULF SHORES
Road Scholar Dolores Hydock presents, “Every Picture Tells a Story: The Storytelling of Norman Rockwell.” 11:00 a.m., 19470 Oak Rd. W., Gulf Shores, AL 36542. Hosted by Thomas B. Norton Public Library. More information at https://www.alabamahumanities.org/programs/road/ or contact T.C. McLemore tcmclemore@alabamahumanities.org /(205) 558-3999

February 9 & 10 – MONTGOMERY
AUM Southern Studies Conference. Grant to Auburn University Montgomery College of Arts & Sciences. More information http://www.cas.aum.edu/community-resources/southern-studies-conference or contact John Havard jhavard@aum.edu / (334) 244-3427

February 13 – OPELIKA
Road Scholar Dolores Hydock presents, “Footprint on the Sky.” 2:00 p.m., 200 S 6th St., Opelika, AL 36801. Hosted by Lewis Cooper Jr. Memorial Library. More information at https://www.alabamahumanities.org/programs/road/ or contact T.C. McLemore tcmclemore@alabamahumanities.org /(205) 558-3999

February 14 & 15 – BIRMINGHAM
Young People’s Concert: Celebrate Alabama with ASO & Bobby Horton. Program at Wright Center for the Performing Arts, Samford University. Grant to Alabama Symphony Orchestra. More information at https://alabamasymphony.org/event/ypc or contact Nicole Williams nwilliams@alabamasymphony.com / 205-314-6958

February 15 – MONTGOMERY
2018 Food for Thought Series; Richard Bailey presents: Alabama’s First Reconstruction Legislature.” Grant to Alabama Department of Archives and History. More information at http://www.archives.alabama.gov/whatsnew/events.html or contact Wesley Garmon wesley.garmon@archives.alabama.gov / (334) 353-3288

February 16 – DEMOPOLIS
Road Scholar Richard Bailey presents, “Rock in a Weary Land: Black Church in 19th Century Alabama.” 12:00 p.m., 211 E Washington St., Demopolis, AL 36732. Hosted by Demopolis Public Library. More information at https://www.alabamahumanities.org/programs/road/ or contact T.C. McLemore tcmclemore@alabamahumanities.org / (205) 558-3999

February 22 – BIRMINGHAM
2018 Red Mountain Reading Series: Workshop with Katherine Webb-Hehn. Grant to Jefferson State Community College. More information http://www.jeffersonstate.edu/red-mountain-reading-series-2018/
or contact Katie Boyer at kboyer@jeffersonstate.edu / (205) 856-6085


February 24-25 – MOBILE
Take Note! Pre-concert Lecture and Discussion Series. Grant to Mobile Symphony Orchestra. More information at http://mobilesymphony.org/takenote

February 27 – GENEVA
Super Citizen Program. Grant to Liberty Learning Foundation. More information at https://libertylearning.org/ or contact Gina Walley at a href=”mailto:gwalley@libertylearning.org”>gwalley@libertylearning.org or 256-382-4048

ONGOING THROUGH 2018

Ongoing through March 2018 – TUSCUMBIA
STEAMing into Alabama’s Bicentennial History. Programs in Tuscumbia. Grant to University of North Alabama College of Education and Human Sciences. More information contact Lorie Michelle Johnson ljohnson15@una.edu / (256) 765-4723

Ongoing through April 2018 – BIRMINGHAM
Ron Casey Visiting Writers Series. Grant to Alabama School of Fine Arts Foundation. More information at HYPERLINK http://www.asfa.k12.al.us/apps/pages/index.jsp?uREC_ID=200881&type=d&termREC_ID=&pREC_ID=614488

Ongoing through May 2018 – BIRMINGHAM
2018 Red Mountain Writing Project. Grant to Red Mountain Writing Project, University of Alabama at Birmingham. More information at http://www.uab.edu/redmountainwritingproject/ or contact Tonya Perry tperry@uab.edu / (205) 934-7896

Ongoing through June 2018 – FORT RUCKER
Literature and the Veteran Experience: Reading and Discussion Series for Veterans at Center Library. AHF partnership project with Center Library, Fort Rucker. More information contact AHF Grants Director Thomas Bryant at tbryant@alabamahumanities.org / (205) 558-3997

Ongoing through July 2018 – ATHENS
UNA-Limestone Prison Initiative. Grant to University of North Alabama College of Arts & Sciences. More information contact Katie Owens-Murphy kowensmurphy@una.edu or (256) 765-4893

Ongoing through 2018 – BIRMINGHAM
Third Space: Shifting Conversations about Contemporary Art. Grant to Birmingham Museum of Art. More information at http://artsbma.org/exhibition/third-space-shifting-conversations-about-contemporary-art/ or contact Claire Hubbs at chubbs@artsbma.org / (205) 254-2086

Ongoing through 2018 – BIRMINGHAM
Southern Thunder: The Legacy of Alabama Auto Racing. Grant to Vulcan Park and Museum. More information at http://visitvulcan.com/event/southern-thunder-the-legacy-of-alabama-auto-racing/2017-06-01/#.WYjTRlGGMdUU or call (205) 933-1409

Ongoing through 2018 – BIRMINGHAM
Woman to Woman. Humanities and Health Care: A Reading and Discussion Series for individuals living with HIV. AHF partnership program with Birmingham AIDS Outreach. More information contact Katie Reese katie@mcwc-bao.org / (205) 540-5889 or Thomas Bryant tbryant@alabamahumanities.org / (205)558-3997

Ongoing through 2018 – BIRMINGHAM
Humanities and Health Care: A Reading and Discussion Series for V.A. Health Care Professionals. AHF partnership program with Birmingham Veterans Administration Medical Center. Hosted by Birmingham V.A. Medical Center. More information contact Thomas Bryant at tbryant@alabamahumanities.org (334) 844-8946

Ongoing through 2018 – MOBILE
War & Memory Podcast Series. Grant to Center for the Study of War & Memory, University of South Alabama. More information at http://www.southalabama.edu/departments/research/warandmemory/UpcomingEvents.html or contact Susan McCready smccread@southalabama.edu

Ongoing through 2018 – STATEWIDE
Journey Proud IV. Media grant to Alabama Public Television. More information at http://aptv.org/series/1915/Journey-Proud

Ongoing through 2018 – STATEWIDE
Wade Hall Traveling Postcards Exhibits. Grant to Troy University. More information at https://trojan.troy.edu/library/wadehall/traveling.html Contact Ruth Elder (334) 670-3874 / relder71917@troy.edu

Ongoing through 2018 – STATEWIDE
Remembering the Great War Speaker Series. Grant to Caroline Marshall Draughon Center for the Arts & Humanities. Auburn University. More information at http://rememberingthegreatwar.org/ or contact Maiben Beard at 334-844-4903 / meb0015@auburn.edu

Ongoing through 2018 – STATEWIDE
History and Humanities Series: Alabama Correctional System. Grant to Alabama Prison Arts + Education Project, Auburn University. More information at http://apaep.auburn.edu/ or contact Kyes Stevens at kyes@auburn.edu / (334) 844-8946

Ongoing through 2018 – STATEWIDE
Literature and the Veteran Experience: Reading and Discussion Series for Incarcerated Veterans. AHF partnership program with Alabama Prison Arts + Education Project, Auburn University and Alabama Correctional System. More information at http://apaep.auburn.edu/ Contact Kyes Stevens at kyes@auburn.edu / (334) 844-8946 or contact Thomas Bryant at tbryant@alabamahumanities.org / (205) 558-3997