Current Events

JUNE 2017

Through June 9
Wade Hall Traveling Postcards Exhibit: Alabama Historical Building. Stockton Heritage Museum. Grant to Troy University. More information contact Ruth Elder at (334) 670-3874 or relder71917@troy.edu

Through June 30
War and Remembrance on the Gulf Coast. Ben May Public Library, Mobile. Grant to Center for the Study of War and Remembrance, University of South Alabama. More information http://www.southalabama.edu/departments/research/warandmemory/exhibit.html or contact Steve Trout at (251) 460-6146 or strout@usouthal.edu

June 1 – 28
Wade Hall Traveling Postcards Exhibit: Alabama Main Streets. Gadsden Public Library. Grant to Troy University. More information contact Ruth Elder at (334) 670-3874 or relder71917@troy.edu

June 1 – August 4
The Eastern Shore: Place and People. Summer Reading Program. Grant to History Blakeley State Park – Spanish Fort, AL. More information http://www.blakeleypark.com/Events.asp or contact Mike Bunn at (251) 626-0798 or mike.historicblakeley@aol.com

June 12 – July 23
Wade Hall Traveling Postcards Exhibit: Alabama Historical Building. University of South Alabama Archaeology Museum. Grant to Troy University. More information contact Ruth Elder at (334) 670-3874 or relder71917@troy.edu

June 12
Road Scholar. Kathleen Thompson, Birmingham City Schools Professional Development Dept., 9:30 a.m. “Blogging: The New Personal Essay.” More information contact T.C. McLemore at (205) 558-3999 or tcmclemore@alabamahumanities.org

June 13
The Eastern Shore: Place and People. Teacher Enrichment Workshop. Grant to History Blakeley State Park – Spanish Fort, AL. More information http://www.blakeleypark.com/Events.asp or contact Mike Bunn at (251) 626-0798 or mike.historicblakeley@aol.com

June 15
2017 Food for Thought Series. Sebastian Lukasik: “The Draft in Alabama during World War I.”
Grant to Alabama Department of Archives and History – Montgomery. More information contact http://www.archives.alabama.gov/whatsnew/events.html or contact Wesley Garmon (334) 353-3288 / wesley.garmon@archives.alabama.gov

June 20 – 23
SUPER Teacher Workshop. David Carlson – Troy University. “Alabama Fever: A Games-Based Discovery of Territorial Alabama.” More information http://www.alabamahumanities.org/programs/superteacher or T.C. McLemore (205) 558-3999/ tcmclemore@alabamahumanities.org

June 24 – August 5
Water/Ways Eufaula. Museum on Main Street Exhibition, a partnership project of AHF, the Smithsonian Traveling Exhibition Service, and Main Street Eufaula. James S. Clark Interpretive Center, Eufaula. Contact Ann Sparks (334) 687-7099 / asparks@mainstreeteufaula.com

June 27 – 30
SUPER Teacher Workshop. Nancy Anderson – Auburn University at Montgomery. “Alabama: Stories of Place in History and Fiction.” More information http://www.alabamahumanities.org/programs/superteacher or T.C. McLemore (205) 558-3999/ tcmclemore@alabamahumanities.org

ONGOING EVENTS

Ongoing through May 2017
Afterschool Blues Camps. Grant to Alabama Blues Project – Tuscaloosa, Hale, Perry, Wilcox counties. More information http://www.alabamablues.org/ or contact Paula Demonbreun at paula@alabamablues.org

Black Belt Historic Interpretation Project. Autauga, Elmore, Mobile counties. Grant to Black Belt Museum, University of West Alabama. More information http://www.blackbeltmuseum.com/programs/ or contact Brian Mast at (205) 652-5528 or bmast@ewa.edu

Humanities Project at Julia Tutwiler Correctional Facility. Grant to Ingram State Technical College in partnership with Troy University. More information http://www.istc.edu/ or contact Brannon Lentz at (334) 514-8607 or brannon.lentz@istc.edu

Ongoing through September 2017
Belles’ Lettres 2 Authors Tour. Grant to University of West Alabama – Statewide. More information http://www.livingstonpress.uwa.edu/ or contact Carmen Giles at 205-652-3424 or cgiles@uwa.edu

Ongoing through October 2017
2017 Red Mountain Writing Project. Grant to Red Mountain Writing Project, University of Alabama at Birmingham – Birmingham. More information http://www.uab.edu/redmountainwritingproject/ or contact Tonya Perry at (205) 934-7896 or tperry@uab.edu

Ongoing through 2017
War and Remembrance on the Gulf Coast Exhibition. Grant to Center for the Study of War and Remembrance, University of South Alabama – Mobile and Baldwin counties. More information http://www.southalabama.edu/departments/research/warandmemory/exhibit.html or contact Steve Trout at (251) 460-6146 or strout@usouthal.edu

Remembering the Great War Speaker Series. Grant to Caroline Marshall Draughon Center for the Arts & Humanities, Auburn University – Statewide. More information http://rememberingthegreatwar.org/ or contact Maiben Beard at 334-844-4903 or meb0015@auburn.edu

Third Space: Shifting Conversations about Contemporary Art. Grant to Birmingham Museum of Art – Birmingham. More information http://artsbma.org/exhibition/third-space-shifting-conversations-about-contemporary-art/ or contact Claire Hubbs at (205)254-2086 or chubbs@artsbma.org

Ongoing through 2017
2017 Food for Thought Series. Grant to Alabama Department of Archives and History – Montgomery
More information contact http://www.archives.alabama.gov/whatsnew/events.html or contact Wesley Garmon (334) 353-3288 / wesley.garmon@archives.alabama.gov

Journey Proud IV. Media grant to Alabama Public Television. More information http://aptv.org/series/1915/Journey-Proud or contact Peggy Hair (205) 380-5169 or phair@aptv.org

Wade Hall Traveling Postcards Exhibits. Grant to Troy University – Troy. More information contact Ruth Elder at (334) 670-3874 or relder71917@troy.edu

Building a Better Future through Humanities. Grant to Alabama Prison Arts and Education Project, Auburn University – Statewide. More information http://apaep.auburn.edu/ or contact Kyes Stevens at (334)844-8946 or kyes@auburn.edu