Museum on Main Street opens in Red Bay

[scrollGallery id=3]

 

IMG_3216After a year of planning, Red Bay officials cut the ribbon on Museum on Main Street, ushering in a six-week Smithsonian Institution exhibit, called The Way We Worked.

This historical, traveling exhibit is made possible through a partnership of Alabama Humanities Foundation and the Smithsonian and will make stops in Andalusia, Ashland, Wetumpka, Fairhope and Northport between now and July 2014.

Only six small towns are chosen for the honor, giving them a rare opportunity for their citizens to see an actual Smithsonian exhibit.

Nearly 200 attended the ribbon cutting ceremony in Red Bay, and thousands of adults and children are expected to make their way through the exhibit over the next few weeks.

The entire downtown area is themed for The Way We Worked with special streetscapes, banners, murals and related exhibits located along a tour route marked by train tracks on downtown sidewalks.

As Red Bay resident Shane Petree made his way through the exhibit on opening day, he talked of the “wonderful experience” it was for old and young alike to view history from their different perspectives — one remembering; the other, learning. “I fell in love with history from a teacher,” he said. “I always wanted to go to the Smithsonian. Now I get to see it in my own hometown.”

The Way We Worked Exhibition Tour Dates

Red Bay
Community Spirit Bank’s Weatherford Centre
Saturday, September 14 – Saturday, October 25

Ashland
Adams Drugstore Building
Saturday, November 2 – Saturday, December 25

Andalusia
Alatex Memorial Park
Saturday, January 4 – Saturday, February 8

Fairhope
Fairhope Museum of History
Saturday, February 22 –Saturday, March 29

Northport
Northport Heritage Museum
Saturday, April 5 – Saturday, May 17

Wetumpka
Elmore County Museum
Friday, May 23 – Sunday, July 6