Past Colloquiums

Previous Colloquium Awards Ceremonies

2018 Nall Hollis   * Gina Locklear  * Bobby McAlpine  * Dr. Martha Bouyer  * Mary Margaret Pettway
* Margot Shaw  * Joyce Vance  * Peggy Wallace Kennedy  * Dr. Andrew Westmoreland
2017 W. Kamau Bell  *  Nimrod Frazer  *  Cassandra King  *  Myron Thompson

Quotes/Comments from 2017 & 2018 Colloquium:

Kamau Bell, Emmy Award winning host of CNN’s United Shades of America, had this to say, “It was truly inspiring to sit onstage with a group of people who, although we may not have a lot in common on the surface, all believe in the goodness and the potential of Alabama. People who all know that Alabama is a place that values diversity of voices and perspectives. And people who are all using their privilege to uplift the people who need uplifting the most. I was honored, humbled and excited to be there.”

Judge Myron Thompson agreed. ?The State of Alabama has such a rich history and culture. We are extremely fortunate to have the Alabama Humanities Foundation as a deep source and inspiration from which all citizens can draw. To be one of its first Fellows is both a great honor and a heavy responsibility.”


2016 Ben & Luanne Russell
2015 Cynthia Tucker Haynes
2014 Betty McMahon
2013 Bobby Horton
2012 Dr. E.O. Wilson
2011 Dr. Elaine Hughes
2010 Edgar Welden
2009 Dr. Bill Carter
2008 Senator Richard Shelby
2007 Jack Warner
2006 Dr. Bert Hitchcock
2005 Dr. Neal Berte & Joe McInnes
2004 Senator Howell Heflin
2003 Dr. Harry Philpott
2002 Harper Lee
2001 Dr. Ed Bridges
2000 Kathryn Tucker Windham & Dr. James Yarbrough
1999 No award
1998 Emory Cunningham
1997 Odessa Woolfolk
1996 Gov. Albert Brewer
1995 Suzanne Wolf
1994 Philip Morris
1993 Dr. Leah Rawls Atkins
1992 Judge C.J. Coley
1991 Dr. Wayne Flynt
1990 Dr. Virginia Van der Veer Hamilton
1989 Winton M. Blount
Charitable Organization in the Humanities Award

This award is given at the discretion of the board of directors at no set interval but if given, it is awarded at the annual luncheon to honor a member of the corporate/foundation community who has been a valuable contributor to furthering the mission and goals of Alabama Humanities Foundation. The award can be based on a single year or multiple years of support.

Previous Award Winners

2017 Vulcan Materials Company
2016 Hill Crest Foundation
2015 Mike & Gillian Goodrich Foundation
2014 AAA Cooper Transportation
2013 Books-A-Million
2012 Regions Bank
2011 Wells Fargo Foundation
2010 Robert Meyer Foundation
2007 Susan Mott Webb Charitable Trust
2006 The Daniel Foundation of Alabama
2003 AmSouth Bank
2002 Alabama Power Company
2001 Southern Progress Corporation
1998 Protective Life Corporation
1997 Energen
1995 Jim Wilson & Associates

Wayne Greenhaw Service Award

The Wayne Greenhaw Service Award is presented annually to a former or current AHF board member who has performed extraordinary service for the organization. The award is a memorial tribute to the former Alabama Humanities Foundation board member who not only observed history but also lived it.  A prolific writer, Mr. Greenhaw authored 22 books. Mr. Greenhaw was often recognized, most notably being selected for the Harper Lee Award as Alabama’s Distinguished Writer in 2006 and the ninth Clarence Cason Award for Nonfiction in 2005 by the University of Alabama.

Previous Award Winners
2018 Reggie Hamner
2017 Lee Sentell
2016 Nancy Grisham Anderson
2015 Jim Noles
2014 Dr. Jack Hawkins
2013 Dr. Don Noble
2012 Judge John E. Rochester