Nominations for 2014 Alabama Humanities Award


Alabama Humanities Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2014 Alabama Humanities Award.

About the Alabama Humanities Award

This prestigious award is given annually to an individual in Alabama who has made an exemplary contribution to the public understanding and appreciation of the humanities. The award is presented at the Alabama Humanities Awards luncheon normally held in the fall.

Native Alabamians or Alabama residents who have made substantial contributions to the humanities—or other living persons who have made substantial contributions specifically to the humanities in Alabama—are eligible nominees. These efforts might include leadership on behalf of a cultural or educational institution, significant scholarly achievement, outstanding teaching of the humanities or public advocacy that embodies the values and perspectives of the humanities. Current members of the AHF board and staff are ineligible.

The deadline for nominations is April 15, 2014.

Previous winners include:

1989 Winton M. Blount
1990 Dr. Virginia Van der Veer Hamilton
1991 Dr. Wayne Flynt
1992 Judge C.J. Coley
1993 Dr. Leah Rawls Atkins
1994 Philip Morris
1995 Suzanne Wolf
1996 Gov. Albert Brewer
1997 Odessa Woolfolk
1998 Emory Cunningham
2000 Kathryn Tucker Windham & Dr. James Yarbrough
2001 Dr. Ed Bridges
2002 Harper Lee
2003 Dr. Harry Philpott
2004 Senator Howell Heflin
2005 Dr. Neal Berte & Joe McInnes
2006 Dr. Bert Hitchcock
2007 Jack Warner
2008 Senator Richard Shelby
2009 Dr. Bill Carter
2010 Edgar Welden
2011 Dr. Elaine Hughes
2012 Dr. E.O. Wilson
2013 Bobby Horton

Individuals, groups, or organizations may submit a letter of nomination. The letter should not be longer than three pages and should describe the contributions of the person nominated. A vita should be included. Nominations remain active for one year.

Email your nomination to

Or mail to:
Alabama Humanities Foundation
1100 Ireland Way, Suite 202
Birmingham, AL, 35205
Fax: 205-558-3981


Tags: ,